You are here

Municipal Wards Commission Establishes New Boundaries for Civic Elections in Fall 2020

For immediate release: October 23, 2019 - 4:21pm

The Municipal Wards Commission has established new ward boundaries that will be in effect for the municipal and school boards election in November 2020.
Three ward boundary options were drafted by the Commission, derived from public feedback collected through two public consultation meetings and other opportunities for the public to participate and provide comments.

After careful consideration of all submissions and presentations from members of the public, the Commission will present its decision of Option 3 and results of the review of ward boundaries for the City’s ten wards to City Council as information only on Monday, October 28, 2019.

New ward boundaries outlined in Option 3 incorporate the following changes from the existing ward boundaries:

  • Silverspring and University Heights Development Area from Ward 10 to Ward 5
  • Wildwood from Ward 9 to Ward 8
  • Eastview from Ward 7 to Ward 9
  • Brevoort Park from Ward 8 to Ward 6

Reminder, these ward boundary changes will become effective as of the municipal and school boards election held November 9, 2020.

More information, including a map of the new boundaries, can be found on