You are here

Living in Harmony


In 1966, the United Nations declared March 21 as the International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination in commemoration of the 1960 Sharpeville massacre in South Africa when peaceful demonstrators against apartheid were wounded and killed.

In 1990, City Council proclaimed March as Cultural Diversity and Race Relations Month in the City of Saskatoon. For events taking place around Saskatoon, visit our community events listing for Cultural Diversity and Race Relations Month.

Living in Harmony Recognition Awards

The Living in Harmony Awards are part of the City’s commitment to foster an inclusive community where ethno-cultural diversity is welcomed and valued, and where everyone can live with dignity and to their full potential, without facing racism or discrimination.

The Living in Harmony Awards recognize individuals and organizations whose outstanding achievements contribute to the elimination of racial discrimination. 

Congratulations to the 2020 Winners!​

Best Elementary Submission: École ​St. Matthew School, Grades 4-6

Best High School Submission: St. Frances Nēhiyaw Bilingual School, Grade 9 Class

Best Video Submission: Grade 4-6 students, Ernest Lindner School

Overall Poster Winner: Ariha Imtiaz, Gr. 8, Ernest Lindner School

Community Recognition Award: Dr. Sheelah McLean


The Living in Harmony Recognition Awards are presented by the City of Saskatoon’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee in partnership with the University of Saskatchewan Student’s Union. Winners are selected by members of the Committee. 

COVID -19 Response:  Awards Ceremony Postponed

In light of the recent confirmation of Saskatoon’s first presumptive case of COVID-19, the 2020 Living in Harmony Awards Ceremony has been postponed until further notice. Thank you to all students and community members for your submissions and important work addressing racism in our city.​

2019 Living in Harmony Award Winners

Poster Winner: Dora Li, Holy Cross High School

Mel Sysing's Grade 6 class, St. Mark School.

Reshai Aisaican, Mount Royal Collegiate.

Sabbar Jahan, St. Mark School.

Nada Abdelrahman, St. Mark School.

Angela Kargbo, St. Mark School.