You are here

Ward 8

Sarina Gersher


Living in Saskatoon, Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis, Sarina is proud to call Ward 8 home for nearly three decades. Ward 8 is made up of the following neighbourhoods: Briarwood, Brighton, College Park, East College Park, Greystone Heights, Hillcrest Management Area, Wildwood and Holmwood Development Area. Raised by her immigrant parents and grandparents in Greystone Heights, Sarina feels a multi-generational connection to the Ward’s diverse and vibrant community.

Sarina is an avid cyclist, supports local businesses and gives back to the community by volunteering at many events for a variety of causes. She is a proud University of Saskatchewan graduate and has a far-reaching understanding of different cultures and approaches to problem-solving, gained through extensive world travel. Prior to being elected, Sarina worked as a GIS Analyst (i.e. making maps) for the Meewasin Valley Authority.

Sarina brings her enthusiasm and innovative fresh ideas as to how Ward 8 and Saskatoon can continue to build upon being an inclusive, safe and sustainable City for people of all generations, backgrounds and abilities.

City of Saskatoon Boards & Committees:   

  • Governance and Priorities Committee
  • Standing Policy Committee on Environment, Utilities & Corporate Services, Chair
  • Standing Policy Committee on Planning, Development & Community Services 
  • Saskatoon Environmental Advisory Committee 

Strategic Priority:

Sarina is co-leading Council’s strategic priority area of Environmental Sustainability with Councillor Mairin Loewen to transform our position as one of the highest emitters of greenhouse gas emissions in the world to a model city of innovation in energy conservation, renewables, and waste diversion. The City of Saskatoon is experiencing a continuing decline in environmental quality related to waste, ecological footprint and air quality.  City Council will be working to reverse this trend.

Outside Boards & Committees:

  • Canadian Urban Transit Association, Chair 
  • International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives 
  • Leadership in Brownfield Renewal Program Member
  • Meewasin Valley Authority (City Representative) 
  • Partners FOR the Saskatchewan River Basin Board of Directors 
  • Saskatoon Ideas Inc. Board of Directors 

Past Boards & Committees:

  • Centennial Auditorium & Convention Centre (TCU Place) Board of Directors
  • Marr Residence Board of Directors 
  • North Central Transportation Planning Committee 
  • Saskatoon Regional Economic Development Authority 
  • Traffic Safety Committee

Contact Councillor

Your Message
Please note that administration may support council in responding to your inquiry.
Please attach any supporting files (image or pdf). Files must be less than 10 MB. Allowed file types: gif jpg jpeg png pdf.